Supersonic Man

May 3, 2016

top science fiction writers

Filed under: fun,Hobbyism and Nerdry — Supersonic Man @ 1:33 pm

Who would be my picks for the top ten or so science fiction writers of all time?  Let’s take an initial stab:

(the inarguable immortals)
H.G. Wells
Olaf Stapledon
Philip K. Dick
Ursula K. LeGuin

(maybes)
Arthur C. Clarke
Frederik Pohl
Alfred Bester
Cordwainer Smith
Kurt Vonnegut
Frank Herbert
John Brunner
Roger Zelazny
Greg Bear
Octavia Butler
Vernor Vinge
Kim Stanley Robinson

(tempting, but probably not justifiable)
R.A. Lafferty
Greg Egan

(ought to read more before rejecting)
Bruce Sterling
Doris Lessing

Names I will definitely not be listing include Asimov and Heinlein… and also Sturgeon and Bradbury.

1 Comment »

  1. Hi. I have no real disagreement with your list, just a few thoughts, if you don’t mind.

    The only ones I haven’t heard of on your list are Lafferty & Lessing, so I will at least do some web searching to get an idea of what they are like. I have no quibble with your rejection of Asimov, Heinlein, et al. I grew up with Heinlein juveniles, and I still re-read “Have Spacesuit, Will Travel” and “Starship Troopers” every year or so, they are a kind of “literary comfort food” for me. But after reading “Friday” and “The Cat Who Walks Through Walls”, I pretty much stopped with Heinlein. I don’t have a specific objection, I just knew that I was done with him.

    I myself would drop Clarke, but I might keep Herbert simply for “Dune”. My favorite SF author is Walter Jon Williams, and while he probably would not merit being on a top 10 list, I enjoy his ideas and characters much more than Clarke, Herbert, or Pohl.

    Thank you for the food for thought, and for a few authors to search about.

    ~ Anna

    Comment by aetrekkie9 — June 15, 2016 @ 8:12 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

